What is Chi Energy?

by David on February 19, 2012


Tai Chi EnergySo what is chi energy? Chi or Qi is that universal energy that permeates us and everything around us. It’s that invisible force that most people don’t recognize and especially in the human body. Chi is not just energy is the power behind energy and life itself. Everything we do, think and how we breathe is Chi. That is what is used or emphasized in martial arts. In Chinese martial arts or Kung Fu, Chi can be exercised and developed in such a way to increase health benefits and power in the martial art itself.

These exercises consist of a series of breathing exercises and body movement to circulate chi throughout the body. Qi flows in a 24 hour Chi cycle. For this reason, you will find many martial arts practitioners practicing Chi Kung or Tai Chi early in the morning. This is when the maximum amounts of Chi levels are in the body and can be tapped into for ultimate results.

Chi Energy Meridian Cycle

As you see in the about chart, Yin is within Yang. It is balance of energy. Yin and Yang cannot work together. Heat (Yang) will cease to exist if there is no cold (Yin). While doing Chi Kung, this chi energy can be circulated throughout the body in mostly a circular fashion. There are 12 meridians in which chi can be circulated.

What is Chi Energy – The 12 meridians

The twelve Meridians have lateral and symmetrical distribution on the head, face, trunk and limbs. The six yin meridians are distributed on the inner side of the limbs and on the chest and abdomen. The six yang Meridians are distributed on the outer side of the limbs and on the head, face and trunk.

There are three Yang meridians that are used to describe the arms and legs. Yang Ming (meaning sunlight yang) has an anterior position. Shao Yang (meaning lesser yang) has a middle position. Tai Yang (meaning greater yang) has a posterior position. These three names describe the variation of yang chi and also the variation of sunlight received.

There are three Yin meridians as well. Tai Yin (meaning greater Yin) has anterior position. Jue Yin (meaning absolute Yin) has a middle position. Shao Yin (meaning lesser Yin) has a posterior position. These three meridians are described as a variation of Yin Chi and the amount of darkness of that position. (Source – Shen Nong)

These meridians are what I am focusing when I do Chi Kung. As one breathes in and pulls their body up, they circulate the energy around to their back, down their legs and then back up their meridians on the sides of their legs. When energy is pulled up, hold your breath up, suck in your stomach and then drop it down. This is the most basic form of Chi Kung.

Now that you have an understanding of Chi, you can know how it can be manipulated within the body. If you used properly, there are tremendous health benefits that can be received internally, emotionally and perhaps spiritually.

David Walker

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: